Recipes

Crockpot Gumbo

I recently made my first gumbo ever. Hard to believe since I am a native New Orleanian. I did a lot of research. Of course, I also consulted my Mama.

From everything I learned, I found out to my surprise that you don’t need a roux to make gumbo. It is all about the okra! You can if you want, but a roux is not a necessity. Roux takes time and patience both of which I have little to spare. It is part of the reason I do a lot of crock pot cooking.

That being said this recipe does take time and preparation, but you don’t have over the pot. This is a two day process. First the okra has to be cooked down to make the base for the gumbo. Then you add broth to get your gumbo going and ready to eat!

Ingredients:
• 1.5 lbs of okra
• 4-5 medium tomatoes
• 4 sticks of celery
• 1 bell pepper
• 1 onion
• 4 tbsps butter
• 4 cups chicken broth
• 1 lb andouille sausage
• 1/2 lb tasso
• 2 chicken breasts
• 2 bay leaves
• oregano, thyme, salt, pepper, tony chaceres, garlic powder

Directions:
Add chopped okra, tomato, celery, bell pepper, and onion in the crockpot. Season with garlic powder, salt, pepper, thyme, oregano, and tony’s. Add 4 tablespoons of butter. Cook for 8 hours on low and stir intermittently. Once cooked down, chop all your meats, and add to the pot. Also, add your chicken broth, and add more seasonings if you want to. Cook again on low for 4 hours. Serve over rice.

Special Notes:
– Sadly, I have no picture to share. My roommates and I consumed it before I even thought of posting this!
– Also, this recipe fed about 4 people for 3 days, so it makes a good amount! This also means that the recipe can be scaled back to make a smaller portion. Gumbo freezes extremely well though.
– The stewed okra can be made in a bigger portion and frozen as well for when you need gumbo starter!
– Frozen okra also works instead of fresh okra. I just personally had fresh okra handy when making this.

Standard

One thought on “Crockpot Gumbo

  1. Pingback: Healthy Cooking: Chicken | Fit Fat

Leave a Reply

